How To Get Your Child Involved!

Hey readers! My name is Faith and I am a full-time employee here at Markatos Services Inc. I also have a second full-time job as a mother of three boys, four if I were to count dad. Which, I’m sure some of you can relate to!

Cleaning is something I do well and take a lot of pride in. I even, at times, find it quite relaxing. However, it has not always been “relaxing”. In the early years of my kids’ lives it was far from relaxing; at times it was so overwhelming it would bring me to tears. This is why I would like to share a little personal story that wasn’t funny then, but makes everyone laugh now, and has literally stuck with the family.

In 2005 I was carrying my third child, working nights, going to school, and caring for my 5 and 1 year old. Every extra minute I had was spent cleaning and organizing the house. Is anyone overwhelmed yet because looking back, I don’t know how I did it!

Kadin, my lively red headed 1-year-old spent everyday watching and helping me clean. Needless to say his help was not the kind of help I was looking for. I would finish cleaning a room and move on to the next room until I was finished. The problem was, with Kadin’s help, I was never finished. He was going from room to room, right behind me, pulling out anything and everything that wasn’t nailed down.

It was November and I must have had Thanksgiving pies on the brain. I began to notice that when I would find his messes on a daily basis I would say, “oh… you little rotten pie!” Eventually, “Little Rotten” dropped off and “Pie” stuck as his nickname. He is almost 9 years old and we all still call him “Pie”. He even wears it proud on the back of his football jersey.

After the birth of his little brother, Pie and I started working TOGETHER on the cleaning issues. He is now my biggest helper!

 

How To Get Your Child Involved!
Tips for getting kids to help with clean up.

  • Tell the truth- Don’t try to fool children into helping clean. Use logic, a little explaining goes a long way. Say something along the lines of “This is the way, as a family, that we like to have the house.” rather than relying on “Because I said so.”
  • Make it a game – “Let’s see who can put away the most toys, I’ll race ya!”
  • Keep promises – When it comes to rewards and special privileges for cleaning parents MUST follow through!
  • Be Specific – Saying, “clean your room”, can be overwhelming to a child. They may not be sure where to start. Give them specific tasks like, pick up the laundry or clean up your cars.
  • Start with easy visible tasks (ages 2-5) – this gives them a sense of immediate achievement. Have them sort the recycling into the correct bins, remove toys from hallways and stairs, or even just fix the couch pillows.
  • Be a role model – This is where we may all have to step it up a little. It’s hard to expect a child to make their bed when your bed may look like a wrestling match just occurred.

To learn more about Markatos Services Inc. visit us on the web!
www.markatosservices.com

About Markatos Services Inc.

Marketing Director for Markatos Services, Inc.
This entry was posted in Cleaning Tips, Markatos Services Inc. and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

